View More Articles...




Coming soon!










Fiscal & Economic Development Public Policy Committee

CSG’s Fiscal & Economic Development Public Policy Committee provides a forum for state leaders to address emerging challenges and issues arising from dynamic fiscal, tax and economic development policy conditions in the states. Members of the committee focus on emerging trends, innovative and effective solutions, and viable policy positions and response projects. During meetings, committee members may introduce and consider policy resolutions. The committee is designed to encourage multi-state problem solving and sharing of best practices, and to facilitate networking among state officials and between the public and private sectors. Committee priorities are established by CSG’s national leaders in concert with the committee’s membership. Committee priorities include: State / Federal Funding Relationship, State Revenue Recovery, Medicaid and Health care Financing / Cost Containment, State Pensions and OPEB Funding, and Rethinking how States engage in Economic Development.
Sen. Debbie Lesko




Senator Tallian
Sen. Karen Tallian

Ted Townsend
Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development
Vice Chair



Jennifer Burnett
CSG director of fiscal and economic development policy
(859) 244-8114


Burnett’s policy areas of expertise include fiscal affairs, economic development, labor economics, public pensions, workforce development, cybersecurity and technology, international trade, and performance management. She coordinates many of The Council of State Governments’ research efforts including the collection, analysis and presentation of data, particularly interactive online databases and infographics. She previously served as CSG’s program manager of research services and special projects. Before joining CSG in 2006, Burnett worked as a research associate at the University of Kentucky Center for Business and Economic Research and as a research assistant in the Office of Paul DeVillers, member of the Canadian Parliament.



   View Additional Resources: